PETA for the Bible

Posted: March 26, 2011 in Unbounded Learning
Tags: , , , , , ,

That's freedom of speech right there

There’s a lot of activist groups that boggle my mind. Top of my list would be the Westboro Baptist Church who teaches their kids to tell you you’re going to hell because you’re gay or Jewish but have also decided to be complete jackasses and protest at military funeral. Christ, talk about crazy.

But that’s a story for another time.

Today we talk about PETA or People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals aka people you think will throw paint at you if you wear fur (which they’ve said they don’t do!).

PETA makes it to my mind-boggling groups list because of their recent petition to use the terms “she” or “he” instead of “it” when referring to animals in the New International Version Bible. Apparently, calling an animal an “it” “takes away its special, God-given identity.” And this:

 

 

While I admire the group’s relentless efforts to spread awareness about animal cruelty and their concrete actions in protecting animals, this is just a bit crazy to me. I’m even okay with throwing paint at fur, but really? Arguing over the semantics in a Bible? I have two problems with this:

1. I am pretty sure if I read “it ate grass” instead of “she ate grass” in a Bible (why I would, no clue), it would not prompt me to think, Hey God doesn’t love this animal so it’s okay if I kick puppies now and put them in an omelette.

2. Since when did PETA use God or religion to back them up? Just the use of god in this made me put them in my list.

 

Oh well, whatever you PETA people think will save the animals. But really? If a person is psycho, no amount of pronouns will stop them from running over squirrels. Go save some kitties or something.

Nah, he's cool. He can take care of himself.

 

 

Comments
  1. 4hollyg says:

    Hilarious post! I guess they don’t like the phrase about liking dogs-“I think they’re delicious.”

Leave a Reply

