GTL: Gym, Tan, Love it!

Posted: April 2, 2011 in Unbounded Learning
Tags: , , ,

I take pride in still watching the evening news,being able to sing along to tunes my folks grew up to, and appreciating movies stars someone else other than Jonah Hill or Jason Segel (who is one funny dude).

But I admit I’ve sold my soul to the devil, bought it with interest, and sold it again for half the price. Twice. Yeah, I like Jersey Shore.

"Yeah, buddy!"

I’d say it’s my guilty pleasure, to which a good friend says all who say that are bad people. I say it’s a guilty pleasure because if my folks found out I watch that show, I’d get the whole “you’re putting garbage in your head” lecture. Yes, mom and dad, I am 8 years old and I imitate everything on TV.

I don’t know, there’s something about watching those kids with their tans and relentless pursuit of juvenile joys (yes, I mean smushing, drinking, and partying) that I find so amusing.

Scratch that, I watch them because they’re having the fun I wish I’m having. What I’d do for the freedom to be crazy like that.

Not one of these are sexy

They’re probably the most interesting people I have seen on TV in a while. Who parties almost all the time and fucks off at work like there’s no tomorrow? Who lives in a house where no one knows how to fold their clothes or keep the toilet unclogged? Who lives with a psycho boyfriend who trashes all your things and a girlfriend who disrespects you all the time? Jersey Shore kids who makes tons of money for doing nothing but GTL, that’s who.

There’s been plenty of argument about how these kinds of shows are breeding a generation of kids who think bad behavior should and is rewarded. I find that extremely stupid. There’s this thing called good parenting, try it some time and stoop blaming poor Snooki or Miley Cyrus for your messed up kids.

If I was given the chance to be part of Jersey Shore, I wouldn’t even if I enjoy the show. It’s like saying, Yeah I like watching monkeys in the zoo but I wouldn’t want to be flinging shit with them. Watching that show just makes me thankful I live with adults who would care if the place looked like dumpster threw up in it. Jesus christ, the Jersey Shore house is gross.

But I would put a stripper pole in my room if my folks let me.

At first, I was all high and mighty about this, refusing to watch some orange girl named Snooki make an ass out of herself and a guy named The Situation show off his abs (which look kind of weird to me). But then, it’s not so bad. Strip away the fake boobs, fake tan, and fake everything then there’s morals you can take away from it.

I’ve only seen a the latest season and started right in the middle of the season. But I don’t think I’ll get tired of it any time soon.

 

See Reunion here.

Leave a Reply

