And America Falls Apart v.2

Posted: April 9, 2011 in Unbounded Learning
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s great that Congress finally got its stuff together and managed not to screw over more people than necessary. But now the heat goes down on Obama.

An Associated Press article points out that Obama isn’t delivering on his promises.

Apparently people are losing faith in him which, personally, I think is misdirected anger. If there’s one thing I learned from my current events class last semester it is that everybody is responsible for the mess this country’s in right now; it’s not just Obama.

For one, the economic meltdown wasn’t solely Obama’s fault (I’m not defending him, I’m just pointing it out). While the majority of Americans get that, there are still some who feel like Obama should be pulling us out of this mess with magic, blaming him because the employment rate isn’t rising fast enough, and people now need to actually live within their means. It’s like blaming your teacher for not raising you right.

 

Or something. I’m terrible at metaphors.

Change takes time

 

Two, the change Obama promised isn’t going to come overnight. It’s just plain stupid to even expect that his efforts will magically turn this country into prime gold again in the span of four short years. Even the successes and failures of past presidents emerged from years and years of efforts from leaders before them. America didn’t turn into a superpower overnight the same way its economic collapse didn’t happen overnight.

Three, while I understand that as a leader Obama should be able to “lead” the country and other individuals in power, there’s only so much he can do. Ever heard of checks and balances? Feller’s article touched on that, fortunately. Obama can be the most charismatic guy in the world but I doubt that’s going to stop the Republicans and Democrats from forgetting they actually have to look out for their constituents. I’m sure they do but I’ve heard plenty about their blame game recently that I’m just not so sure anymore.

Tea party’s reaction to the shutdown: here’s a reason a dislike them.

Finally, everyone is to blame. Even the citizens are, whether they voted or not. I bet a huge chunk of the voting population aren’t as informed as they should be about the people they put into power. Can’t blame them, if I could vote I’d probably either be a nonvoter or an uninformed voter. But this is what happens. The people in Congress are responsible. President is responsible. (But yes, some might have a bigger responsibility than others) We can’t be reaping the benefits of this country and be washing our hands clean when it gets all messed up. With the exception of foreign affairs and terrorism, we can blame other people for that without looking like assholes.

I was really worried about the government shutting down but an hour before Congress realized they were being retarded, I realized I really don’t care. They can’t possibly shut down the government for 2 years so by the time I’m applying for a real job, I won’t have to worry about competing with the people who lost their federal jobs. Military people are still going to get paid despite the shutdown and if they’re smart, they would have a savings account to dip into while they wait for the government to open and pay them later. So really, it wouldn’t have affected me much.

Still, the budget issue isn’t over yet. Congress avoided the shutdown for a little longer but who know, maybe they’ll have something else to argue about again before budget deal vote thing happens on Wednesday.

What’s happening now? Obama signed a short-term funding deal.

On a last note about this boring post (not a fan of writing about politics but I was interested for a while there): Is it me or was the buzz about the government shutdown not as big as I would’ve imagined it to be? Government was on the verge of shutting down and there wasn’t as much panic or anger as I thought there would be.

Leave a Reply

